Me, Her, the Boy and a Dog

The adventures of me, her, my boy and our dog as we navigate life in a crazy world. We love the outdoors, sports, reading, playing, and of course, the Virginia Tech Hokies and the William & Mary Tribe.

Also, I founded the GoFightWinVT Tumblr, so if you're a Hokie, give it a follow. And, feel free to check out my Project 365 Tumblr.
Recent Tweets @vthokiefans
Who I Follow
Posts tagged "phishing"
LinkedIn Scam Alert? Check out the URL in this email I got. Does it look legit to you? Yeah, didn’t think so. LinkedIn does not need to verify my account. If you get this email, do not click on the link, it’s a phishing scam designed to get your login info. At least that’s my guess.

LinkedIn Scam Alert? Check out the URL in this email I got. Does it look legit to you? Yeah, didn’t think so. LinkedIn does not need to verify my account. If you get this email, do not click on the link, it’s a phishing scam designed to get your login info. At least that’s my guess.

Last night, I got an e-mail from someone purporting to be from LinkedIn informing me that they needed to confirm and validate my account. This is clearly a phishing attempt, so if you get a similar e-mail, do not click on the link in the e-mail. Instead, forward the e-mail to phishing-report@us-cert.gov.

Remember when it was easy to spot SPAM or Phishing attempts? English was clearly not the criminals’ first language. The sentence structures were terrible and there were spelling errors throughout the e-mail. Unfortunately, that’s not the case any more. The e-mails are written well enough to pass as legitimate correspondence from reputable companies.

Despite improving their spelling and grammar, there are still dead giveaways if you pay attention. Here are some things to look for to help spot a fraudulent e-mail.

A screen shot of a phishing e-mail purporting to be from LinkedIn

1) Look at the “From” e-mail address. If it’s not from the actual company named in the e-mail, then that’s your first hint. For example, this e-mail claiming to be from LinkedIn comes from a hotmail account. Already, I know this was not legit.

2) What are they asking you to do? In this case, “LinkedIn” wanted me to “confirm and validate” my “new profile.” As if the warning sirens weren’t already blaring, they are at deafening levels now. I set up my LinkedIn account a long time ago, so I know for a fact that I don’t have a “new” profile.

3) Online social networking sites like Facebook, LinkedIn and MySpace will never ask you to download a file in an e-mail, especially to validate your account. Stop and think for a minute - these sites are Web-based, not an application you download to your computer. There is NO reason to download a file to review and verify your account.

4) By now, I’m only still reading this fake e-mail out of curiosity. Look at the file extension they want you to download - it’s a .pif file extension. A .PIF is a program information file associated with early versions of Microsoft Windows (we’re talking Win95). According to filext.com, when you click on a .PIF file, the information in the file is used by Windows to run a program; including code that can be in the PIF file. It is a potentially dangerous file type, so never click on one received via e-mail.

Well, I hope this helps keep your computers safe. Remember, if you don’t have an updated virus detection program, it’s cheaper to buy a new licenses for $60 than it is to pay the Geek Squad at Best Buy three times that much to clean our your computer and then still have to pay $60 for virus protection software.

Lastly, when in doubt, do not click on any links or download any files. It’s better to be safe than spend a crap-load of money to fix your mistake. Happy Interwebbing!

Look legit, doesn’t it? But, there are always signs that someone’s trying to get you to give up your login information using a phishing attack.

  1. For starters, I have no idea why someone would send me $400.
  2. Secondly, it came to an e-mail (my work) that is not associated with my PayPal account.
  3. Thirdly, the “from” address was service@paypal.us. Last time I check, it’s PayPal.com.

If you aren’t sure an e-mail is legit, NEVER click on the links in the e-mails. Instead, open a new browser window or tab and type the site’s URL directly. In this case, I would go to paypal.com and login to my account and make sure I don’t have any pending transactions. But I would NOT click on the link in this e-mail.